Simpson University Honors Students During Awards Chapel

REDDING, Calif.—Simpson University honored numerous undergraduates during its final chapel service of the 2018-2019 academic year for achievements in academics, leadership and overall excellence.

President Norman Hall, speaking in his first awards chapel at Simpson University, referenced Romans 12:2, noting especially its inherent invitation to participate in God’s will.

“We go to a Christian college to train up our minds, hearts and spirits to be prepared to participate in what the Lord is unfolding,” he said. “You are qualified to make a meaningful impact in the world for Christ. … Let’s live into our motto, ‘Gateway to World Service’ – let’s go change the world.”

In addition to presenting yellow cords to students graduating with honors (cum laude, magna cum laude, summa cum laude), professors and staff presented the following awards to students:


Standing, from left: Matt Balane, Paul Bigelow, Michelle Brady, Hillary Kraft, Dr. Timothy Orr, Mariah Moss, Dr. Michelle Stinson, Chloe Lynch, Hannah Goddard, Lydia McGaffee, Bryce Perez, Jordan Allen, Bev Klaiber, Mary Eileen Harter, Jalen DuPree. Kneeling, from left: David Duxbury, Juliana Valencia, Sanae Yoshihara

Stanley Clark Research Awards: Molly Finn, Best Graduate Student Paper; Amy Chambers, Best Graduate Poster; Lydia McGaffee, Best Undergraduate Student Paper; Taylor Baldwin, Best Undergraduate Poster; Paul Bigelow, Best Undergraduate Presentation

Faculty Scholarship Award: Erica Stark

Outstanding Music Student of the Year: Bailey Agness

Outstanding Cross-Cultural Studies Major: Mary Eileen Harter

Business Student of the Year: Daisy Rodriguez

Outstanding English Major: Janet Spoon

Zondervan Biblical Languages Award: Aiden Clark

Psychology Student of the Year: Hannah Goddard

Excellence in Outdoor Leadership: Caleb Fowler

Spanish Student of the Year: Juliana Valencia

Communication Student of the Year: Jalen DuPree

Biology Student of the Year: Hillary Kraft

Phi Alpha Theta Honors: Michelle Brady, Drake MacLaren, Jake Riley

History & Political Science Department Outstanding Research Award: Chloe Lynch

History & Political Science Department Outstanding Student Award: Mariah Moss


From left, Derick Kuhn, Madison Wright & Aaron Berry

Team Scholar Awards: Men’s and Women’s Cross-Country

Red Hawk Awards: Derick Kuhn and Madison Cox

Male and Female Athletes of the Year: Aaron Berry and Madison Wright

Scholar-Athletes: 94 student-athletes earned a 3.0 or higher GPA

Alumni Association Community Service Award: Bryce Perez

Student Life Award: Matt Balane

Rotary Honor to Youth Award: Jordan Allen

President’s Cup Award: David Duxbury and Sanae Yoshihara

The following faculty and staff were also recognized:

Professor of the Year: Dr. Michelle Stinson
Student Development Professional of the Year: Bev Klaiber
Frances P. Owen Distinguished Scholars: Drs. Stephen Bailey, Brian Hooker, Jack Painter, and Michelle Stinson
ASBSU Appreciation Award: Dr. Timothy Orr

Photos by Chyna Xiong and Connor Sutton


Simpson University, founded in 1921, moved to Redding almost 30 years ago and will celebrate its centennial in 2021. In addition to offering 25 majors in its traditional undergraduate program, the university has graduated almost 4,000 North State adults from its ASPIRE degree-completion program, and nearly 3,000 from its School of Education. It has a highly ranked School of Nursing, a seminary, and master’s programs in counseling psychology and organizational leadership.

Simpson is launching new athletics programs in track and field, swimming and diving, women’s wrestling, and men’s volleyball, as well as a bass fishing team. The university is also working to better serve transfer students from community colleges through its commitment to Associate Degree for Transfer agreements, and it is offering new scholarships.

Learn more about Simpson University at Follow university news at